Grundprinzipien


Die Grundprinzipien sind auch in den folgenden Sprachen verfügbar:


Kriege und bewaffnete Konflikte wurden und werden durch den globalen Waffenhandel angeheizt. In der Folge sind Millionen von Menschen getötet oder verstümmelt, unzählige vertrieben und fruchtbare Regionen in Ödland verwandelt worden. Gleichzeitig erzielen Rüstungsunternehmen, Zwischenhändler sowie die politisch und militärisch Verantwortlichen immense Gewinne mit der Not und dem Leid. Wir, das Global Net - Stop The Arms Trade, wollen diesem grausamen Kreislauf der Gewalt ein Ende setzen.

 

Das GN-STAT ist ein Netzwerk engagierter Menschen mit einer Website als Online-Ressource, die Informationen über Art, Funktion und Folgen des internationalen Waffenhandels liefert. Wir wollen Aktionen und Kampagnen stärken für eine friedlichere und gerechtere Welt. Unser Ziel ist es, den Tätern des globalen Waffenhandels einen Namen und ein Gesicht und den Opfern eine Stimme zu geben.

 

Um effektiv zu sein, muss unser Handeln zielgerichtet auf den folgenden Prinzipien basieren:

 

1. Gewaltlosigkeit und friedliche Konfliktlösung sind die Grundlagen unserer Arbeit.

2. Wir verfolgen einen kritischen Ansatz gegenüber allen am globalen Waffenhandel beteiligten Akteuren, einschließlich aber nicht beschränkt auf Staaten, Einzelpersonen und Unternehmen.

3. Wir arbeiten daran, die Akteure des globalen Waffenhandels zur Rechenschaft zu ziehen, indem wir Informationen über ihre Aktivitäten bereitstellen und ihnen durch Protest, Aktivismus, Kampagnen- und kritische Aktionärsarbeit sowie Rechtsvertretung bei Strafprozessen entgegentreten. Unsere Aktivitäten basieren allesamt auf fundierten Recherchen und Untersuchungen.

4. Wir haben einen systematischen Ansatz zum Waffenhandel, indem wir diesen in seinen breiteren politischen und wirtschaftlichen Kontext einordnen, einschließlich seiner Auswirkungen auf den Klimawandel, Ungleichheit, Ungerechtigkeit, Migration und breit gefassten Militarismus.

5. Der Waffenhandel ist ein globales Geschäft, das auf der Basis internationaler Netzwerke von Rüstungsproduzenten, Politikern, Militärführern, Staatsbeamten und Lobbyisten agiert. Wenn wir diese Strukturen erfolgreich verstehen und seine Abläufe entwirren wollen, müssen auch wir global handeln.

6. Wir erkennen zwar an, dass nationale Gesetze, multilaterale, regionale und internationale Abkommen und Verträge bei der Regulierung von Rüstungsexporten nützlich sein können. Aber wir sind der Ansicht, dass diese derzeit völlig unzureichend sind, um dem außer Kontrolle geratenen Waffenhandel zu begegnen, und zwar sowohl aufgrund des fehlenden politischen Willens als auch aufgrund der Schwächen der Regulierungsinstrumente.

7. In unserem Handeln lehnen wir jede Diskriminierung aufgrund von Rasse, ethnischer Zugehörigkeit, Geschlecht, sexueller Orientierung, Sprache, Religion, nationaler oder sozialer Herkunft, Eigentum, Geburt, rechtlicher Stellung oder einem anderen Status ab. Wir behandeln uns gegenseitig mit Respekt und Würde, die – wie wir glauben – alle Menschen auf unserem Planeten gleichermaßen verdienen.

contact

ArmsInformationCentre

www.rib-ev.de

 

Office and Library Freiburg

Stühlingerstraße 7

79106 Freiburg

Germany

MAIL: rib@rib-ev.de

+49 761 / 76 78 208

 

Office Berlin

Marienstraße 19-20

10117 Berlin

Germany

 

Office Vienna

Lederergasse 23

1080 Wien

Austria

Office Hours

Our offices are not open to the public, but visits are possible by appointment.

 

The offices are occupied from 9:30 am to 4:00 pm.

Donations Account

The RüstungsInformationsBüro (RIB e.V.) is a public charity, which means that donations are tax-deductible. For donations of up to 200 EUR, the German tax authorities need only the deposit slip. For larger donations, we are of course happy to provide you with an official donation receipt.

 

our account:
RIB e.V.
IBAN: DE56 4306 0967 8041 0738 00
BIC: GENODEM1GLS

Basic Principles


The Basic Principles are also available in the following languages:


Wars and armed conflicts are fuelled by the global arms trade. As a consequence, millions of human beings are killed and maimed, innumerable people are displaced, and fertile regions are turned into wasteland. At the same time arms companies, intermediaries and their political and military enablers are making immense profits out of this suffering. We, the Global Net - Stop The Arms Trade, want to put an end to this cruel circle of violence.

 

The GN-STAT is a network of committed people and an online resource that provides information about the nature, functioning and consequences of the international trade in weapons in order to empower activism and campaigning for a more peaceful and just world. Our goal is to give a name and face to the perpetrators of the global arms trade and a voice to the victims.

 

To be effective, our actions must be systematic and based on the following principles:

 

1. Non-violence and peaceful conflict resolution are the foundations of our work.

2. We practice a critical approach to all actors involved in the global arms trade, including but not limited to states, individuals and corporations.

3. We are working to hold the actors of the global arms trade to account by providing information about their activities and through protest, activism, campaign work, shareholder action, and legal advocacy, all underpinned by evidence-based research and investigations.

4. We have a systemic approach to the arms trade in that we locate it within its wider political and economic context, including its impact on climate change, inequality, injustices migration and broad militarism;

5. The arms trade is a global enterprise, operating through international networks of arms manufacturers, politicians, military leaders, state officials, and lobbyists. Thus, if we want to successfully understand its structures and unravel its operations, we too must act on a global scale.

6. While we acknowledge that national laws, multilateral, regional and international agreements and treaties can be useful in regulating the trade in weapons, we believe that these are currently woefully inadequate to deal with the out of control nature of the trade, as much due to the lack of political will as to weaknesses with these instruments themselves; and crucially

7. In doing this work we reject any discrimination based on race, ethnicity, gender, sexual orientation, language, religion, national or social origin, property, birth, legal or other status. We treat each other with mutual respect and dignity which we believe all people on the planet deserve.

contact

ArmsInformationCentre

www.rib-ev.de

 

Office and Library Freiburg

Stühlingerstraße 7

79106 Freiburg

Germany

MAIL: rib@rib-ev.de

+49 761 / 76 78 208

 

Office Berlin

Marienstraße 19-20

10117 Berlin

Germany

 

Office Vienna

Lederergasse 23

1080 Wien

Austria

Office Hours

Our offices are not open to the public, but visits are possible by appointment.

 

The offices are occupied from 9:30 am to 4:00 pm.

Donations Account

The RüstungsInformationsBüro (RIB e.V.) is a public charity, which means that donations are tax-deductible. For donations of up to 200 EUR, the German tax authorities need only the deposit slip. For larger donations, we are of course happy to provide you with an official donation receipt.

 

our account:
RIB e.V.
IBAN: DE56 4306 0967 8041 0738 00
BIC: GENODEM1GLS